CD “Art of Life” 

1st Album “Art of Life”  









– honestly expressing the subtleties of the human heart –




⭐️メイ・オキタ オンラインストアから直接ご購入いただけます!


⭐️2020.2.12「Art of Life」の日本語版がリリースされました。
Tower Records Online


1. Let’s Face the Music and Dance - Irving Berlin 						
2. Both Sides Now - Joni Mitchell						
3. Detour Ahead - Herb Ellis, John Frigo and Lou Carter
4. Art of Life - May Okita and Josh Nelson 						
5. Blue Rose – Duke Ellington      
6. When She Loved Me – Randy Newman 					
7. Some Other Time – Betty Comden, Adolph Green / Leonard Bernstein 
8. Smile – John Turner, Geoffrey Parsons and Charles Chaplin						
9. What a Difference A Day Made” – Maria Grever / Stanley Adams 
10. Ev’ry Time We Say Good Bye” – Cole Porter

プロデュース: メイ・オキタ、ジョシュ・ネルソン
パーソネル: メイ・オキタ (voice), ジョシュ・ネルソン (piano), ラリー・クーンズ (guitar)
録音: タリー・シャーウッド (トライトーンスタジオ、ロサンゼルス) / 春日峰夫 (track5)
マスタリング: ピーター・ドゥエル (アフターマスター・オーディオラボ、ロサンゼルス)
レーベル:オリジン・レコード (Origin Records)








OKITA has a pleasant voice and obviously loves the material. Highlights include “Both Sides Now”, a transformation of “Detour Ahead” into a waltz, and a swinging version of “What a Difference A Day Made”
– Downbeat

オキタは魅力的な声の持ち主であり、自らの奏でる曲を愛していることが歌から伝わってくる。アルバムのハイライトは”Both Sides Now”、ワルツにアレンジされた”Detour Ahead”、そしてスウィンギーな”What a Difference A Day Made”だ。

After a stint in Los Angeles and before returning to her native Tokyo, May Okita recorded this refreshingly lightweight album with musical collaborators Larry Koonse on guitar and Josh Nelson on piano. There’s an uplifting, simplistic quality to this set, which is mostly jazz standard fare but also contains one of Okita’s own compositions.

Okita’s vocal has a pleasant quality, coming across as slightly ephemeral; she lightly touches the surface of notes rather than delving more deeply into them. This is more an album of feeling, of style, than anything ground-breaking.

Okita’s petite vocal works best on straight ballads like Both Sides Now. She also gives a rather poignant reading of Randy Newman’s song for abandoned toys from Toy Story 2, When She Loved Me. Smile is another example of a ballad sung with tender sensitivity by Okita.

This is a quiet album, with no fireworks or bombast, but certainly glimmers of sincerity that are all the more appealing in their understatement.

Jazz Journal REVIEWS By Sally Evans-Darby – 



オキタのヴォーカルの魅力が最大限に発揮されているのは「Both Sides Now」のようなストレートなバラードである。トイ・ストーリー2からの、捨てられたおもちゃの気持ちを歌ったランディー・ニューマンの「When She Loved Me」では痛切な悲しみを読み取り、表現している。その他のバラード「Smile」でも彼女の優しく、高い感受性による歌唱を聴くことができる。



MAY OKITA/Art of Life: Recorded shortly before she left LA to return to Japan, what can you say about a jazz vocal trio where the other two cats are Josh Nelson and Larry Koonse and you were taught your moves by Tierney Sutton? The set card is mostly familiar tunes done up in a new way giving this a freshness that removes it as far as possible from the cocktail realm. It might be sitting down listening but it certainly gets your pulse racing—even in it’s laid back moments.(Origin 82771)  

MIDWEST RECORD, Volume 43/Number 78   January 18, 2019 – Written by CHRIS SPECTOR

L.A.から日本に帰国する直前に録音されたジャズヴォーカルトリオの作品。メンバーがJosh Nelson, Larry Koonse、そしてTierney Suttonが手ほどきをしたという時点で否のつけどころのない作品ではなかろうか?よく知られた曲目がほとんどだが、酒場の音楽といったイメージを拭い去るような斬新な演奏でフレッシュに仕上がっている。座ってじっくり聴いていると、音楽がレイドバックしているような瞬間でさえ、胸の鼓動が高鳴る自分に気づくだろう。


“Gentle toned vocalist May Okita creates gentle sonatas with the spartan support of guitarist Larry Koonse and pianist Josh Nelson on this delicate collection of standards. Her sandied tone is attractively intimate with Nelson on an alluring “Let’s Face the Music and Dance” while Nelson provides streamlike ripples for a contemplative “Both Sides Now.” A troubadour’d take of  “Detour Ahead” has Okita in a breathy form as she floats over Koonses classy strings, and is fluffy with the two on a read of the rarely done Ellington piece, the cheerful “Blue Rose.” She is coy while cooing on “What  A Difference A Day Makes” and conversant on “Shen She Loved Me.” Unpretentiously attractive. ”

Jazz Weekly REVIEWS – March 14, 2019, written by GEORGE W. HARRIS

柔らかな音色のヴォーカリスト、メイ・オキタが、ギタリスト ラリー・クーンズとピアニスト ジョシュ・ネルソンの質実剛健なサポートを得て優しく奏でる、スタンダードを繊細に選りすぐった作品。 彼女の砂のようにきめ細やかな歌声を、”Let’s Face the Music and Dance”ではネルソンのピアノとの心通じるやりとりとともに、”Both Sides Now”では瞑想のための小川のせせらぎのような美しいピアノに乗せて聴くことができる。 トルバドゥール(吟遊詩人)を想起させる”Detour Ahead”では、オキタのウィスパーヴォイスがクーンズの落ち浮いたプレイに合わせて優雅に舞い、あまり演奏されることのないエリントンのゴキゲンなナンバー”Blue Rose”ではメンバーのプレイとともに軽やかに響く。 “What A Difference A Day Makes”では甘く優しくはにかむような、”When She Loved Me”では語りかけるような歌唱を楽しむことができる。気取らなさが魅力の一枚。


メイ・オキタは、精神科の医師でありジャズ・シンガーとしても活躍。同時に “Jazz Vocal Alliance Japan”という団体も主宰、幅広い活動をしている。2013年から医療の勉強のためロスアンジェルスのUCLAに4年間留学。勉学のかたわら、当地でサラ・ガザレク、ジョシュ・ネルソン、ミッシェル・ワイアー、キャシー・シーガル・ガルシア、ティアニー・サットン、シェリル・ベンティーン等と出会い、歌の教えを受けていた。本アルバムは、サラ・ガザレクと何度か来日しているジョシュ・ネルソン(p)と今、売れっ子のギタリスト、ラリー・クーンズと共に、彼女が2018年5がつにシアトルのオリジンレコーズに録音したデビュー作。優しく滑らかな声で聴き手にも優しく語りかけるように歌う、心を洗われるような作品。タイトル曲は歌に行き詰まりを感じていた彼女がアメリカで新たな道を見出した喜びを歌うオリジナル。これとローズマリー・クルーニーも歌った、ワードレスのデューク・エリントン”Blue Rose”が特に印象的だ。

レコード・コレクターズ 2019年3月号 高田敬三氏によるレビュー

精神科医でジャズ歌手のメイ・オキタは静岡県浜松市出身でUCLAに留学経験もある。本作がデビュー・アルバムで、LAで知己を得たジョシュ・ネルソンとラリー・クーンズという歌伴巧者を器用。素敵な作品が誕生した。彼女とネルソンの共作による標題曲”Art of Life”以外はよく知られた曲が並び、彼女のフレッシュな歌唱をサポートするピアノ、ギターのソロも按配良く配置されていて、こちらも聴きものとなっている。ディズニー映画〔トイ・ストーリー2〕からの感傷的なバラッド”When She Loved Me”や、巧みなスキャットを披露するデュークエリントンの”Blue Rose”も良い。

JAZZ LIFE 2019年3月号 小川浩氏によるレビュー